top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureResearch Radar

Shopping in Iceland

Make no mistake. While it is a gorgeous country filled with culture and smiles, Iceland is expensive. I've learned a lot about saving money when going out and basic necessities, but let's talk about what to do when looking for something to bring back.





1.) Avoid the "Tourist Traps."

With tourism growing in Iceland, so are the prices in tourism. Little carved animals for 2,200 kr ($20 USD), hats and shirts for about $50 USD and the infamous traditional wool sweaters, which start at about $190 USD and are as much as about $400 USD! While these gift are worthwhile, they are certainly pricey. However, they're not all bad! It may take going into a few, but there are some stores that offer decently priced goods.


2.) When walking into a regular-Icelandic-clothing store, be prepared to embrace the regular struggles of living in Iceland.

Regular clothing stores are very expensive. I went into one and saw a gray sweater. There was no price tag and I asked how much it was. When the sales clerk came back and told me it was 25,500 kr ($232 USD), I must have done a poor job hiding the shocked expression on my face because she said right after, "I'll just put that back on the rack for you." Needless to say, be prepared!


3.) Thrift stores are your friends.

Thrift stores are a great way to find some souvenirs for a lower price. Discount clothing with many different styles. Also, that normally expensive authentic wool is sold for a better price for those on a budget.


4.) The flea market is a hidden treasure.

While thrift stores are a great choice, my personal choice would be the flea market. You can find clothes at about the same price as thrift stores, while also having the ability to bargain. This is where I bought 2 sweaters because they were a great deal and the bargaining made it even better! I may return at a later date if I want to buy another souvenir because they have a lot of variety and my first experience went really well.


If anyone out there is going to Iceland and wants to buy some clothes while they're there, I really think this advice is useful! Also, does anyone want to see a post some examples of what I bought and recommend? Comment on what you think!


That's all I have to say!

x Emma

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page