top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureResearch Radar

New Series: The Bahamas

I'm going to be launching several new posts about my latest adventure in Eleuthera, The Bahamas! I was at The Island School working with Cape Eleuthera Institute, a research institute and school founded by Cape Eleuthera Institute, for three months. I was already there for a week in my junior year of high school, and I loved it so much I came back for a second time.


Credits: Chanler Miller

At this school, they are dedicated to researching marine biology and sustainability. I've learned so much while being here and would love to share everything! I will be covering cultural aspects, the beautiful surroundings, and the research I did.


The program I took part in at The Island School was the Gap Year Program. This program offered the chance to do research in the field and take part in many expeditions. These expeditions included camping trips, a kayaking trip, and exploring beautiful destinations around the island. I will be going into depth on all of these adventures, but today I will be focusing on the school itself.


The Gap Program stays in Grad Hall. The space is shared with the Cape Eleuthera Institute interns. The rooms are separated by gender and have 9-10 spaces available per gap student room. This is a dorm building equipped with laundry rooms, private shower stalls, and a kitchen.

Credits: Chanler Miller for pics 1 and 2


The campus has many great features!

1. Boy's Dorm Beach

2. Educational Program/Guest Houses/Octagon (presentation room)

3. Hallig House, the nicest living space (and most sustainable) on campus

4. Mangrove Sanctuary

5. Mangrove Sanctuary

6. Wierda Bridge

7. Wierda Bridge

8. Power Windmill

9. Garden in center of campus, fertilized by the septic tank.

10. The Dining Hall

11. The Boathouse

12. Diving Map of Cape Eleuthera

13. The Boathouse

14. The Boathouse

15. The Boathouse

16. Grad Hall Beach


The school is home to many research projects and students, and I can't wait to share!


That's all I have to say!

x Emma

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page