top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureResearch Radar

First Impressions


City skyline from shore by Reykjavik Airport

This is a very beautiful country. When I first arrived, I could see nothing. It was rainy and dark. However, by the time I left the airport, the sun was rising. The sunrise was beautiful layers of gold and pink with light peering through layers of clouds that were just above mountains and dormant volcanoes. Looking off to the side was an old lava field covered with green moss.

Passing through towns and arriving at Reykjavik was quiet as it was still early on Saturday morning. The architecture was simplistic yet nice and the city is very clean! The people seem very friendly as well. However, I think my favorite thing I've seen so far in the past 24 hours was the mountain across the peninsula, Mt. Esja. I can't wait to see what the rest of this trip has in store.


"If you're lst in the forest, just stand up!" An old joke among Icelaners is that just standing will help you see over the trees. It's very hard for plants to grow in Iceland, and the trees don't grow very tall and forests are not very thick.

The Lutheran Cathedral (Hallgrímskirkja) among colorful rooftops.

Mt. Esja

x Emma

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page