top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureResearch Radar

Reykjavik University

Reykjavik university in Reykjavik, Iceland. This is where I will be working/learning for the fall. Founded in 1998, Reykjavik is the largest private university in Iceland. Over 3,000 students study there and is environmentally friendly.

 


 

The university is young, but still very successful for being founded for just 20 years. This is where I'm working during my internship. The area I'm focused on is the Biomedical Engineering Center, as it is where I'm working. I haven't been able to talk about much in the past because I was getting used to the workplace and learning what was appropriate information to share. My internship can be talked about, although only on a lighter level because some information is classified. The university works with hospitals often and patients and test subjects shall remain anonymous and all information is confidential.


To start, the Biomedical Engineering Center is a place where professors, master students, and guest scientists work. The center is equipped with scientific materials, including a very high-tech 3D printer. Published posters and awards are everywhere, as well as science jokes. However, the thing that I think is the best is the past prototypes used to make artificial body parts and sample models used for surgeons to practice surgery.


During my internship, I'm working with EEGs (electroencephalograms) and 3D modeling. EEGs are meant for measuring brainwaves that people are emitting. A lot of new studies are being done and new information has been learned about our postural control and the amount of brain power that goes into it. I'm also beginning to learn to 3D model some anatomical pieces, taking them from X-rays and bringing them to full scale. As I am writing this, the next days schedule includes doing a little bit with both of these tasks. That's all I have to talk about today, I hope to talk more about research in the future!


x Emma

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page